Airbrush Makeup- Is It Really All That?

So for years now, bridal magazines and blogs have been touting airbrush makeup as a ‘must have’ for brides on their wedding days. Claims that it is a long-lasting as well as a lightweight, natural looking foundation have all brides clamoring for it, and only hiring makeup artists that can use this technique. But as a professional makeup artist with almost 20 years of experience under my belt, I have seen the pros and cons of airbrush makeup. Here are my thoughts on the whole debate…

Airbrush makeup, while easy for a trained professional to apply, is only made for one skin type. So if my client has very oily or dry skin, it’s not nearly as effective as a foundation that is made for those specific skin types. It won’t control oil, and won’t hydrate dry skin. Also, if you have more mature skin, I find it has a tendency to settle into fine lines and wrinkles, effectively aging the client. Since it’s only sprayed onto the skin and not actually work into the skin like a traditional foundation, it can look great for a bit, but then gravity takes it’s toll, and, BAM, all of those textural tiny flaws in your skin really stand out.

Maybe it’s because I am old-school, but I often prefer to ‘hand paint’ my clients, even though it takes me longer than simply blasting a client’s face with my Iwata compressor and gun. I carry an arsenal of different foundations in my kit, including Armani, Face Atelier, MAC, Urban Decay and Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics

A little glimpse into my makeup kit

A little glimpse into my makeup kit

, which allows me to custom blend a foundation specifically for their skin type, coloring, and the effect they want, such as matte, natural or radiant finish. It also allows me to use the least amount of product necessary to get the coverage they want.  And with the correct application technique, priming and finishing products, any foundation can be long-wearing, will give an ‘airbrushed’ appearance and should feel light on your skin.

And as for the claim that airbrush makeup lasts all day?  Any experienced artist will have a treasure trove of primers and setting sprays that will make ANY makeup last for at least 12 hours!

 

Don’t get me wrong, airbrush makeup is great on certain clients! But when consulting with your makeup artist about your wedding day makeup, ask them what your options are, and which one would suit your skin the best. Like your wedding style itself, it’s not a ‘one size fits all’ technique.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

