“Hi Rachel!
How do I keep eyeliner looking like eyeliner?
I have oily skin so waterproof doesn’t seem to work well. I’ve tried the long lasting – I’d be happy if it lasted just a few hours. I tried the gel with matching eyeshadow to set it but I end up looking like someone punched me in both eyes. I currently am using a gel with an eyeliner pencil over it. It’s not too bad but gets ookie in the outside corners. None of the tricks seem to work. Is there hope? -Starla”

 

Well Starla, that’s a great question! I lot of women have issues with oiliness on eyelids, and find that their makeup is more slippery than a politician in an election year. Here are some suggestions for you to try-

Use an eyelid primer formulated especially for oily eyelids, before you even apply your eye shadow. I’d recommend a flesh-toned or colorless one, so you can pull it out slightly beyond your lid, which should help your shadow AND liner stay put. My fave eyeshadow primer for oily, fair skin is the MAC Paint Pot in the shade “Painterly”, $18.50 at http://www.maccosmetics.com . For darker skins, I like to use the same product in the “Quite Natural” shade.

Now, after you have perfectly primed and shaded those eyes, it’s time to tackle the liner. Since you are already familiar with using a gel, I think you’ll have a pretty easy time using a cake liner and sealer as well. Try the Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Liner, and Tightline Activator. $23 and $20, respectively at http://www.lauramercier.com . It might seem like a big expense for eyeliner, but trust me, it is a lifetime supply!  Place a drop or two of the activator onto the cake, and mix it with a very fine brush, until it starts to look almost frothy…in the industry, we call this making a slurry. Test it out on your hand to make sure it’s nice and black (or whatever color you choose), and then get to lining those eyes!  While you can use the cake liner with water, it’s the activator that makes it truly waterproof and long-wearing. I use this product on all of my brides, and if it can last throughout their day full of happy tears, I think it will be just fine for you! Remember, practice makes perfect, and it’s JUST makeup- a lot of people find this technique intimidating, but don’t worry- if you mess it up, just take it off and start all over again. Just make sure you use a good waterproof eye makeup remover to do it, or you’ll be struggling to get it off for hours 😉

Mac Paint Pot to Prime, Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Liner and Activator

Mac Paint Pot to Prime, Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Liner and Activator

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you very much for helping me on this & explaining how to use the products. I will sure give it a shot & see what happens,

  2. Heath says:

    i LOVE the Laura Mercier activator/cake liner. I really only ever use cake liners anymore!

Leave a Reply

